Dinner salad of the cobb kind

imageYears ago in law school, I made a habit of making a particular salad:  hard-boiled eggs, boiled shrimp, chilled, boiled potatoes and lettuce.  Served with ranch dressing.  I don’t recall whether I made the dressing myself or purchased in in a bottle.  I thought it was a very fine thing to eat.

Many years later I came upon Frank Stitt’s buttermilk vinaigrette, which is a very, very fine thing.  Here is a version.

imageFrank Stitt’s Buttermilk Vinaigrette

1/2 small shallot, diced

1 T cider vinegar (I like Bragg’s)

1 T lemon juice

Mix these together with S&P in bowl.

Add: 4 T buttermilk (1/4 c)

scant 3 T mayonnaise

1 T sour cream.

mix with whisk.  Whisk in 1 T olive oil.  Taste for balance.  Maybe it needs more lemon?  S&P?

Earlier in the day, hopefully you will have either (1) poached a leftover chicken breast in stock, (2) hard boiled some eggs, and/or (3) boiled some shrimp, and chilled these items.  Then after you make the dressing, you can pull together a dinner salad, one way is as follows:

Rinse and dry leaves of lettuce and watercress

1/2 avocado, large pieces or large dice

1/4 pound poached chicken or shrimp

2 carrots, peeled and cut into pieces

soppressata ( why not)

imageOther options:  cheese, cubed; cauliflower, red pepper

Very delicious and satisfying plus you get to feel virtuous eating all those greens, and let’s just overlook that soppressata.image

2 thoughts on “Dinner salad of the cobb kind

  1. sounds lovely, I will give this a go!!! I have a loin of wild boar (on the bone, but I can take it off) do you have ideas for this, I am having this on Christmas day?

    Like

Leave a Reply

